There is nothing better to end a season of breathtaking displays and to celebrate the quality of players that dominated the ABH pitch on Saturday mornings than a befitting award ceremony.

There were medals, trophies and cash to be won at the ABH FA Awards

Modeled closely after the FIFA annual awards, the ABH Football Association held the maiden edition of the ABH FA Awards on Saturday 8th October with Oluseye Moteniola and Oluwaseun Akinfemisioye as co-hosts. Famewo Common Room, which was overloaded with people dressed in their finest outfits, was picked as the venue for the inaugural awards. Members of the ABH FA committee, the Hall Executives, representatives from other associations, players, coaches, team owners, and individuals who had been entertained throughout the season gathered to witness a celebration of all those who made it all possible.

Oluseye Moteniola and Oluwaseun Akinfemisioye co-hosted the event

The program commenced shortly after 10 am on Saturday, 8th October 2022 with opening remarks by Mr. David Salami, the ABH Chairperson. The president of the University of Ibadan Students’ Union, Mr. Adewole Yinka, past hall chairperson of Alexander Brown Hall, Dr. Morhason Bello, sports secretaries of various student associations, and past chairmen of the ABH football association amongst others were some of the dignitaries present at the occasion. Mr. Opone Michael also delivered opening remarks on behalf of Dr. Aire, the sponsor of the ABH FA cup competition.

The ABH Chairman gave the opening address at the event

Winners of the individual awards- EP7 Award, Leget’s MVP award, the Ancestors rookie of the year Award, Temzy’s best backman Award, and the Playmakers Award were all awarded with plaques and varying cash prizes. There were cheers for popular recipients and harmless shows of dissent for the not-so-popular ones. Some of the players went home with medals hanging from their necks and the promise of cash in the bank. Other players, one may presume, left with a steely resolve to be up on the podium at the next edition.

Titans FC receiving the cash prize for the second runners-up in the league

Team awards included cash prizes for the first, second and third in the ABH League and the winner and runner-up for the Dr. Aire FA cup. Stampede FC which finished the season unbeaten narrowly edged out Blazers FC to emerge as the most decorated team with team members winning four individual awards and clinching three of the six positions on the ABH team of the season.

Stampede United completed the first unbeaten run in ABH league history

Speaking with the ABH Press, the FA chairman, Mr. Mark Obeya assured that the next edition of the event would be something to look forward to. “We decided to have an award ceremony, the first of its kind to add more color to the season finale. We wanted the ending of the season to be just as special and memorable. Yes, Brownites can look forward to bigger award ceremonies.”

The FA chairman giving the closing speech of the ceremony


  • Ancestors Rookie Award- Qudus (Titans FC)
  • Playmaker Award- Andy Cole (Blazers FC)
  • EP7 award- Joseph (Blazers FC)
  • Dr Aire FA cup runners up- Titans FC
  • Dr Aire FA cup winners- Blazers FC
  • Dr Aire FA cup highest goal scorer – Andy Cole (Blazers FC)
  • Dr Aire FA cup MVP (Brownite)- Gbolahan Ridwan (Blazers FC)
  • ABH league second runners-up – Titans FC
  • ABH league first runners up- Gladiators FC
  • ABH league winners- Stampede United
  • Wilfred’s Gaffer of the season- Sherrif (Stampede United)
  • Temzy back man of the season- Jenyo (Stampede United)
  • Demha’s defender of the year- Rockson (Stampede United)
  • ABH league-best forward- Bolu Babalola (Gladiators FC)
  • Leget’s MVP award- Etim (Titans FC)
  • Don G’s prize for the unbeaten team in the league- Stampede United
  • ABH FA Hall of Fame Inductee- Caleb (Stampede United)
  • ABH FA team of the season
  • Coach- Sherrif (Stampede United)
  • Goalkeeper Charles (Gladiators FC)
  • Defender Rockson- (Stampede United)
  • Central midfielder- Caleb (Stampede United)
  • Attacking midfielder- Etim (Titans)
  • Striker- Bolu (Gladiators FC) 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.