Dolapo Oyegbile emerged as the best graduating student in the 2018/2019 induction ceremony of the Department of Medical Laboratory Science. Scientist Oyegbile, who served as the Health Minister in the just concluded Transcending Limit cabinet, was one of the three first-class graduates.

The two other first-class graduates were Olalekan Ilesanmi and Abiola “Haybee” Lawal. The trio will receive a sum of fifty thousand Naira from the Medical Laboratory Science Council, as is the custom. Scientist Oyegbile also got awarded a plaque and certificate from the council and presented by the Provost.

In gleeful dressings and a COVID-compliant ceremony, 2k17 MLS class were inducted into the medical laboratory science profession. This marked the third induction ceremony of the department since its re-introduction in the 2012/2013 academic session. Reiterating how much it meant it meant to the profession, the Registrar of the Medical Laboratory Council of Nigeria, Dr Tosan Erhabor detailed the history of the course at the University of Ibadan.

He noted that the course, which was first introduced in the 1965/1966 academic session, was suspended after two sessions. It was only revisited over 40 years after the suspension. The Registrar went on to admonish the University College Hospital to absorb the inducted scientist. He then appealed that the hospital retains the three first-class graduates of the class.

The Provost Award for Participation in Community Life went to Ernesto Dibia and Blessing Ilori. Both “displaced and residential” Brownites were on-ground to join in the celebrations as usual in the sequel “ward round” exercise.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.