Fayemi victorious in Ekiti elections


  • By Ridwan Ojewale

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, declared Dr. Kayode Fayemi of the All Progressives Congress as the winner of the July 14 governorship election .
The INEC results, showed that Fayemi polled 197,459 votes while His PDP rival Professor Olusola Eleka got 178,121 votes. Results also showed that Eleka won in four local governments namely Ikere-Ekiti, Emure, Efon and Ado-Ekiti while Fayemi won in the remaining twelve local governments of Ilejemeje, Irepodun/Ifelodun, which is the local council of the incumbent, Ayodele Fayose, Ido-Osi, Fayemi’s own local council also in Oye, Moba, Ijero, Gboyin, Ekiti West, Ikole, Ise Orun, Ekiti East and Ekiti South West.

Congratulations has starting pouring in for the former governor of the state who lost in the 2014 elections. President Buhari has urged the Dr. John Kayode Fayemi to be magnanimous in victory . He also appreciated the efforts of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governor-elect and all party supporters for the hard-fought victory after a what he described as a dignified campaign. He commended the people of the state for their peaceful conduct during the elections. He also appreciated the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for adequate preparations and displaying impartiality throughout the process.
President Buhari in his statement stated that, “In all this, the people of Ekiti State have spoken loud and clear, and democracy has won again,

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.