By Ridwan Ojewale

Thursday night was one not to be forgotten for Alexander Brown Hall’s orators and debaters. The literary and debating society appointed a new set of executive members to take charge from the Busayo Omotosho-led administration. The last meeting of the outgoing executives also witnessed the long overdue induction of some new members of the society. Orators Dibia Ernesto, Toluwalase Akinluyi, Oluwatoba Jumoke among others were officially inducted into THE SOCIETY.

The valedictory meeting was anchored by the outgoing secretary, Orator Eunice Oladeji who reeled out the numerous achievements of the administration. Jawwar, Armoury of Words, Leadership and Excellence centre debate, Students’ Council on Legal Aid (SCOLA)’s oratory contests were few of her mentions. She continued with the various programs such as the Akinkugbe champions’ debate and the leadership training session organised by the administration.

Members were thereafter asked to share memorable experiences and humorous recalls of (happy, sad and funny) Jawwar moments were discussed. Coordinators (of Clinical Sciences and Dentistry) and the financial secretary gave their reports emphasizing the challenges, limitations and recommendations. The clinical science coordinator, Orator Johndaddy Jemikalajah made specific mention of the administration’s effort to integrate the nursing students and urged the incoming ones to do more in the regard. After the report of the electoral committee’s chairman, Orator Miracle Ojo, the outgoing president was bestowed the honour of announcing of the new members of executives.

President Busayo, whose farewell speech centred mainly on the need to remain united and avoid politics in the house concluded by appreciating members for the unwavering support he enjoyed. He then announced the executives as follows;

Team Leaders:
1. Nwaezuoke Chisom Anastasia
2. Adesina Aderemi
3. Nwachukwu Bernard
4. Nwaduru Chinedu

  • Chief Whip: Nwachukwu Chibuike
  • Head of Development Team: Nwaduru Chinedu
  • Clinical Science Coordinator: Anyanwu Roseben
  • Dentistry Coordinator: Oso Oluwatosin
  • Financial Secretary: Oluwatoba Jumoke
  • Public Relation Officer: Opone Esther
  • General Secretary: Akinluyi Toluwalase
  • Vice President: Ojewale Ridwan
  • President: Ojo Charles

The meeting which extended very late into the night ended with the acceptance speech of the new president.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.