There are only a couple of social events that bring campus journalists together and a little less number of events that recognises outstanding journalists. The Union of Campus Journalist Luncheon not only attends to these but also marks power transition and this time, the 32nd Executive Council displacing the 31st. So when heels and wedges and Brogues and Oxfords of the Members of Fourth Estate swept over the soil of Tedder Hall today, it was only business-as-usual but not so usual.

The Tedder Hall Senior Common Room which hosted the luncheon on 17th November, 2018 slowly-but-surely got filled up as press men trickled in from 11AM on heels and flats. Hosting the event was MC Sim Card who in his usual way pushed for a humourous gathering.

The first batch of awards was for a long list of Editors-in-Chief in recognition of their service to the union and next to those who served on committes and as editors.

The event was graced by Union alumni including three members of the famous J6 – Adesope Femi, Alao Abiodun Joshua, and Kanyinsola OlorunisolaIbrahim, the 29th President of UCJ, Oredola Ibrahim and Mr. Fisayo Soyombo of The Cable newspaper.

Emphasing the significance of the union, Mr Fisayo Soyombo in his address posited that the Union is golden. He also charged the new executives to build relationships when they are not needed.
_”UCJ has many illustrious sons and daughters that it is possible to use trenchard hall for handing over”_ the graduate of Animal Science said.

At some point, it is essential to distinguish exceptional dedication from dedication. This was perhaps the concept of the introduced status, “Veteran Journalist”. The status is now deemed to be attained by Babatunde Aishat, Akinpelu Yusuf, Olusanya Martins Issac and
Olapade Oluwasegunfunmilola.

The 31st Executive was dissolved by the chairperson of the the electoral Committee, Miss Christianah Fadare who also administered the oath of office to the 32nd Executive Council. The first tasked of the newly ushered in President was to then dissolve the electoral council

Some other prize winners were
Creative Writer of the Year – Olamide Tejuoso
Best departmental press – Philosophy press bagging it for the third year consecutively.
Best Faculty Press – Faculty of Arts Press Organisation
Best Hall Press – Independence Hall Press
Overall best Press organisation – Indy Press
Most supportive Editor-in-Chief – Adeyemi Ayekun
Most Supportive Press Organisation – Mellanby Hall Press Organisation
Most Encouraging Pressman – Otun Damilola
Most Political Journalists – Ogunlade Segun
Most Supportive Postgraduate Student – Abimbola Molaji
Award for Pictorial Journalism – Adeleke Kazeem
Most Supportive Pressman – Kazeem Folarin.
Akinpelu Yusuf won the best satire for Common Sense leaves UI while The Soy Next Door won the column of the year.

With the vote of thanks taken by the former Vice President Administration, Ogeroju Robiat, the over 3 hours event came to a close.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.