The much-awaited Headies Award has finally come and as expected, it was a beautiful event. The award show held Sunday, 4th September 2022 in Atĺanta. The event was star-studded and included beautiful performances from Asake, Fireboy, etc. We finally got to see which stars would go home with a coveted golden figurine. In case you were unable to watch it, here’s a list of the night’s winners:

Rookie of the Year
  • Fave
Best Recording of the Year
  • “Celebrate Me” by Patoranking
Producer of the Year
  • Sarz – “Monalisa” (Lojay & Sarz)
Songwriter of the Year
  • Adekunle Gold – “Sinner”
Best R&B Single
  • “Essence” – Wizkid feat. Tems
Best Rap Single
  • “Feeling” – Ladipoe feat. Bnxn
Best ‘Alternative’ Song
  • “Doings” – Flavour
Best Vocal Performance (Female)
  • Waje – “Last Time”
Best Vocal Performance (Male)
  • Oxlade – “Ojuju”
Lyricist on the Roll
  • A-Q – “The Last Cypher”
Best Music Video
  • “Champion” – (Fireboy Dml Feat. D Smoke) Directed By Tg Omori
Best Collaboration
  • “Essence” – Wizkid Feat. Tems
Best Street-Hop Artiste
  • Nektunez & Goya Menor – “Ameno Amapiano (Remix)”
Best Afrobeats Single of the Year
  • “Peru” – Fireboy DML
Headies’ Viewer’s Choice
  • Ayra Starr – “Bloody Samaritan”
Best West African Artiste of the Year
  • Gyakie (Ghana)
Best East African Artiste of the Year
  • Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)
Best North African Artiste of the Year
  • Latifa (Tunisia)
Best Southern African Artiste of the Year
  • Focalistic (South Africa)
Best Central African Artiste of the Year
  • Innoss’b (DR Congo)
Best Afrobeats Album
  • Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition) – Wizkid
Best Reggae & Dancehall Album
  • Three – Patoranking
Best R&B Album
  • If Orange Was a Place – Tems
Best Alternative Album
  • Intermission – Ibejii
Best Rap Album
  • Carpe Diem – Olamide
Album of the Year
  • Made In Lagos (Deluxe Edition) – Wizkid
Song of the Year
  • “Essence” – Wizkid Feat. Tems
Best Female Artiste
  • Tems
Best Male Artiste
  • Burna Boy
Next Rated
  • Bnxn
Artiste of the Year
  • Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Humanitarian Award of the Year
  • Davido
Digital Artiste of the Year
  • Davido
Best Inspirational Single
  • Kcee & Okwesili Eze group (Cultural Praise)
Special Recognition
  • Dbanj (Talent)
  • Efe Omorogbe
  • Sunday Are
  • Bose Ogbulu
Hall of fame
  • Angelique Kidjo
International Artiste Special Recognition
  • Akon
  • Wyclef Jean

I hope your favourites made it to the winners’ list. It was undeniably a competitive race. I can not wait to see what is in store for us next edition. Until then, let’s continue rooting for African artistry.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.