For the past five years, the African Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards has served as a qualitative and quantitative measure of the best movies across the African continent. This year was no different with over 120 nominations coming in for 27 categories as filmmakers and actors battled it out for what is widely seen as “the Oscars of Africa”. The build-up to this year’s edition started from a televised broadcast announcing all the nominees on all African Magic movie channels on Saturday, June 30 which was anchored by Joselyn Dumas, a Ghanaian TV host and actress and Bovi, a Nigerian comedian.

On the first of September, all of the stars converged at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos for the 6th edition in what turned out to be a well-organised, colourful and amazing event. Anchored by IK Osakioduwa and Minnie Dlamini-Jones who were resplendently dressed throughout the evening, the red carpet kicked off at exactly 1600 hours (West African Time) with stars like Dakore Akande, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Jade Osiberu, Olu Jacobs, Joke Silva amongst others gracing it with so much pomp and pageantry. The main awards ceremony started by 1900 hours in which the awards were interspersed with performances from music stars like Falz, Adekunle Gold and Cobhams Asuquo. Some notable talking points include:

  • The planning and organisation: The main hall of the Eko Hotel and Suites was temporarily transformed into a world-class amphitheatre capable of hosting any of the BIG 4 (Oscars, Tonys, Emmys, Grammys). Big-ups must seriously be given to Multichoice for the painstaking detail given to planning. The only noticeable flaw was when the microphone used by IK stopped working. This was however quickly rectified by him using the microphone reserved for announcement of the awards.
  • IK is the best MC in the land: In a country filled with outstanding MCs like Ebuka Obi-Uchendu, Kemi Adetiba, Osas Ighodaro, Denrele Edun, Stephanie Coker and Helen Paul amongst others, IK Osakioduwa once again stood out yesterday as the best with his masterful performance on the stage. With his dexterous crowd-control, switching from humour to candour and even throwing jabs at Dino Melaye who was present, IK arguably out-shone his fellow MC, Minnie Dlamini-Jones throughout the night.
  • Alternative music is here to stay: Over the past year, some of Nigeria’s biggest breakout stars have cemented their places at the top of the music industry. This was further noticed last night with only musicians like Falz, Cobhams Asuquo and Adekunle Gold bestraddling the stage. What was more obvious was that they ALL beautifully performed with live bands (even Falz, a rapper!). Despite all the grounds they have broken over the year, one cannot help but ask if Davido and/or Wizkid can perform so well with a live band.
  • Why classical music at an African awards night?: While there are undoubtedly people who love classical music, its performance by Omo Bello at an award that is supposed to showcase the best of AFRICAN culture cannot help but be questioned. You only have to ask yourself if Rara or Bolojo would be performed at the Grammys to properly plaize our foccuz on African Arts and Culture. Africa must be pushed to the world first at events like this.
  • Are movie stars more serious than music stars?: Year after year, awards like the Headies and the SoundCity music awards have stood out for the noticeable absence of big names like Wizkid and the likes. This was however not the case at the AMVCAs as there were only two absences (Tunde Kehlani who was onsite at Saudi Arabia but ably represented by Segun Odegbami and Adjetey Anang who had a live show at the same time but sent HIS WIFE in his stead). This thus begs the question whether the music stars rate the Headies on the same scale actors rate the AMVCAs.
  • Falz is fast becoming an icon: “The only artiste with an AMVCA”, Folarin Falana aka Falz has won two AMVCAs in the past two years, asides multiple Headies awards. While receiving the award for the Best Supporting Actor, he also used the opportunity to voice out to the Nigerian youth, asking them to participate actively in the electioneering process. Coupling this with the “This is Nigeria” hit released a few months ago and “On the Couch”, a YouTube show which interviews prospective presidential aspirants, Falz’s relevance in Nigeria is fast transcending music and movies.

The award winners include:

  1. -Best Sound Editor: Tatu Kolade Morakinyo and Pius Fatoke
  2. -Best Picture Editor: 18 Hours Mark Maina
  3. Best Lightning Designer Movie/TV Series: TatuAkpe Ododuru, Tunde Akinniyi
  4. -Best Cinematography Movies/TV Series: Okafor’s LawYinka Edward
  5. -Best Costume/Designer Movie or TV Series: The BridgeNgozi Obasi and James Bessinone
  6. – Best short film/online video: PenanceMicheal Ama Psalmist Akinrogunde
  7. – Best Documentary: The Flesh Business- Dennis Wanjohi
  8. – Best Makeup Artist Movie/TV series: TatuThelma Ozy Smith, Hakeem Effect Onilogbo
  9. – Best Art Director: LotannaTunji Afolayan
  10. – Best Soundtrack Movie/TV Series: TatuEvelle
  11. – Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series- Swahili: Super Modo– Sarika Hemi Lhakani
  12. – Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series- Hausa: MansoorAli Nuhu
  13. – Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series- Yoruba: Etiko OnigeduFemi Adebayo
  14. – Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series- Igbo: BoundLilian Afegbai
  15. – Best TV/Drama/Comedy Series: This is itDolapo Adeleke
  16. – Best Movie East Africa: 18 HoursPhoebe Ruguru
  17. – Best Movie West Africa: Isoken– Jade Osiberu
  18. – Best Movie Southern Africa: The Road To SunriseShemu Joyah
  19. – Trail Blazer Award: Bisola Aiyeola
  20. – Industry Merit Award: Tunde Kelani
  21. – Best Writer Movie/TV Series: Alter EgoPatrick Nnamani/ Koye O/Moses Inwang
  22. – Best Supporting Actress: Lydia ForsonIsoken
  23. – Best Supporting Actor: FalzNew Money
  24. – Best Actress (Comedy TV Series): Nyce WanueriAuntie Boss
  25. – Best Actor (Comedy TV Series): Odunlade AdekolaA million Baby
  26. – Best Actress (Drama TV Series): Omotola Jalade-EkeindeAlter Ego
  27. – Best Actress (Drama TV Series): Adjetey AnangKeteke
  28. – Best Director: Jade OsiberuIsoken
  29. – Best Overall Movie: 18 Hours Phoebe Ruguru

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.